Saints shut out of Pro Bowl

No Saints players were named to the 2008 Pro Bowl roster on Tuesday, the first time they’ve been shut out of the postseason all-star game since 1980.

The Saints had a handful of worthy candidates, like quarterback Drew Brees, receiver Marques Colston and defensive end Will Smith. But none of them made the cut.

Brees landed behind quarterbacks Brett Favre, Tony Romo and Matt Hasselbeck in the voting, which was conducted by players, coaches and fans. Colston lost out to Terrell Owens, Larry Fitzgerald, Donald Driver and Torry Holt.

Last year, the Saints earned three invitations to the Pro Bowl – Brees, Smith and offensive tackle Jammal Brown.

Posted by Mike Triplett, Times-Picayune staff writer December 18, 2007 3:38PM

Comments are closed.